Past Winners

In 2010 (our 3rd festival), the Cleveland Comedy Festival added a contest to our schedule and the results have been amazing.  In the three years of the contest, 96 comedians from all over the United States and Canada have competed for cable TV glory and prize money.  Every single one of them was very funny and distinguished themselves just by being selected.  But these individuals stood out as winners in 2010, 2011, and 2012.

2010 Time Warner Cable Funny On Demand Contest

In 2010 the contest was sponsored by Time Warner Cable of Northeast Ohio and was a different format than what we currently use.  24 comedians competed in two different shows.  12 finalists were selected by Time Warner Cable and their sets were run on local TV for an entire month with cable subscribers being able to vote on their favorites.  The three winners received their own TV special (taped in February 2011).

Justin Cash

Rob Snow

Darrell Dawson

Justin Cash – 1st Place

Rob Snow – 2nd Place

Darrell Dawson – 3rd Place

2011 Cleveland Comedy Festival Contest

In 2011 the contest format that is still in use was adopted with 36 comedians being selected each competing in a prelim rounds with 50% audience voting and 50% media / entertainment industry judges. Cleveland’s own Mike Head wowed the audience and the judges in the prelims and finals and came away the winner. Boston’s Taylor Connelly delivered a fantastic performance and finished 2nd while Derrick Knopsynder of PA was 3rd.

Mike Head

Taylor Connelly

Derrick Knopsynder

Mike Head – 1st Place

Taylor Connelly – 2nd Place

Derrick Knopsynder – 3rd Place

2012 Cleveland Comedy Festival Contest

In 2012 36 comedians were selected from an even larger pool of registrations with each competing in a prelim rounds with 50% audience voting and 50% media / entertainment industry judges. We had our first international winner with Eric Andrews from Toronto, Canada delivering a winning set in the finals. Brent Terhune from Indiana was 2nd and Cleveland’s own Curtis Cook was 3rd.

Eric Andrews

Brent Terhune

Curtis Cook

Eric Andrews – 1st Place

Brent Terhune – 2nd Place

Curtis Cook – 3rd Place



Comments are closed.